First PetUke Jam Thursday, June 28th. 7-9pm

Posters are up & I’m pleased with the amount of interest so far. I’m excited to have finally booked a location for our first jam. We are going to take advantage of the beautiful summer weather & meet at the bandstand at Centennial Park (B on the map). There is a large parking lot off Park drive, the bandstand is down the path to the right, past the beach & play structures. Or you could park near town hall on Victoria Street and take the stairs down behind the fire station. The bandstand has a roof so if there is a light rain we will have some protection. Bring a chair and if you happen to have a music stand bring that along too. Please print off the songs I’ve linked to below. I will bring along extra copies. I will try to get a hold of some music stands and work on a contingency plan in case of heavy rain or thunderstorms.

Since many of us are beginners I wanted to get the song list up for our first jam. I’ve picked some that I can already play plus some that I think I can learn before the first jam since I will probably end up leading the first jam. It would be great to take turns leading songs though! If anyone has more song suggestions please feel free to email them to me & I can add them.

June Song List

Don’t worry if you can’t play the songs yet or if you don’t have a ukulele. You can still come out, sing & learn more about ukuleles.

I plan to run the first jam loosely based on what BUG in Ottawa does:

  • club business (announcements, introductions, etc)
  • play some songs
  • break (chat, practice, etc)
  • open mike time (if anyone has been working on a piece or technique, this is the time to show off what you’ve been working on)
  • play a few more songs

I thought we could take some time to review chords at the beginning of each song if we need to for the newbies. I’ve tried to put the songs somewhat in order from easier to more difficult. If you are not familiar with any of the songs you should be able to find them on youTube. I did try to pick ones I thought most people would know. The songs came from BUG (on the song & song book pages) or Dr Uke plus one or two taken from Ukulele Boogaloo.

Friends or family teasing you about the ukulele? Show them the video below – most people think of Tiny Tim when they think ukulele, but Jake Shimabukuro rocks!

About Marla

author, illustrator, dreamer
This entry was posted in Pet Uke Circle News, Upcoming PetUke Jam. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

